HAUER LAVERDA 1200 SC – the legend's alive!

Many LAVERDA-Enthusiasts have heard rumours about her, but only very few have ever seen her: the Hauer-LAVERDA 1200 SC. We are presenting this legend! With pictures and a bit of story.

At the Vienna Spring Fair 1976 the Kawasaki and Honda dealer Hauer presented a sensation: An extremely lightweight and rigid chassis with tubular frame and boxed swingarm for the engine of the Kawasaki Z 900.

Alerted by the race success of the LAVERDA importer Sulzbacher – Austrian National Champion 1975 Franz Laimböck – Gerhartd Tempel who at the time was Managing Director of the Hauer company, approached Sulzbacher with an offer: For the purpose of publicity in racing, the tubular frame should be modified to fit the engine of the LAVERDA 1000. Consequently a blank of the frame was given to the project-leader and race team mechanic Bertram Amorth.

But everything was to turn out completely different: In 1976 the race success unfortunately could not be repeated and Bertram Amorth left Sulzbacher. He took the chassis and used it to build the Hauer-LAVERDA 1200 SC.

After only a few kilometres the bike was offered in the ”classified“ section of the renowned German motorcycle magazine ”Motorrad“ 22/1977 and a guy from Würzburg bought it. The bike was road-tested and registered in Austria in order to allow the new owner to ride it with an Austrian numberplate in Germany. After three years however the owner lost interest and sold the bike again.

The second owner prepared the bike to have it road-tested by the German TÜV. This appeared to be very difficult. But in 1980, finally, the Hauer-LAVERDA 1200 SC passed the road test at the Würzburg TÜV and got all the modifications registered in the papers. The owner rode the bike exacty the way Bertram Amorth had set it up. However, the joy of riding this unique LAVERDA was extremely dampened by a complete engine blow up. The owner therefore sold the Hauer chassis with some own modifications, as he still had an original 1984 LAVERDA 1000.

The third owner completely rebuilt the Hauer-LAVERDA with many brand new spare parts. Modern 16" Campagnol rims with floating 280mm Brembo discs and ”Oro“-calipers were used. As a true Sulzbacher-Enthusiast he already owned a LAVERDA 1000 with a Sulzbacher 1200 SC engine. This engine was built into the frame with all of its components. Unfortunately even this engine didn't last long and so the Hauer-LAVERDA was standing much more in the garage than it was ridden.

Maximilian Volker Mahlmeister bought the bike in 2003 after it had been standing for 15 years. After a thorough assessment the bike was completely disassembled. The frame was stripped of its paint, controlled, measuerd and rebuilt in a specialist workshop. The Hauer-LAVERDA was changed back to its original 18" wheels and the Brembo-Oro components were completed. A friend of Max' stripped the Sulzbacher-engine and perfectly rebuilt it. The bike is supposed to be presented to the TÜV in Würzburg in Summer 2007.

This unique Austrian creation is supposed to live and be ridden again. We are already looking forward to the first meeting with the revived Hauer-LAVERDA 1200 SC. Everybody who might be able to contribute pictures or stories related to this bike please contact Gert Schnögl (phone +43-1-5449377, e-mail: Gert.Schnoegl@netway.at).

Manufacturer:

Hauer, Vienna

Constructor:

Bertram Amorth/Austria

Year/Frame:

1975

Design:

Tubular frame, TIG-welded

Years of assembly:

1976/77

First registered A:

?

First registered D:

12.05.1978

Chassis number:

LAV 5159

Model:

1200 SC

Engine:

1200 SC / 112 hp at 7.700 rpm

Maximilian-Volker Mahlmeister is a name in the LAVERDA community. He rebuilds and restores Nippon Denso and Smith speedos and tachos. For this purpose he even manufactures faces, outer caps, sealing rings and glasses. You can reach Max under phone.: +49-9324-982608, mobile: +49-175-4144936, e-mail: Max.Mahlmeister@gmx.de. You can download his pricelist here: pricelist-PDF.

HAUER LAVERDA 1200 SC – die Legende lebt!

Viele LAVERDA-Enthusiasten haben schon von ihr gehört, kaum jemand hat sie je gesehen: die Hauer-LAVERDA 1200 SC. Wir bringen diese österreichische Legende in Wort und Bild.

Auf der Wiener Frühjahrsmesse 1976 präsentierte der Kawasaki- und Honda Händler Hauer eine Sensation: ein extrem leichtes und verwindungsfreies Fahrwerk mit Gitterrohr-Rahmen und Kastenschwinge für den Motor der Kawasaki Z 900.

Durch die Renn-Erfolge des LAVERDA-Importeurs Sulzbacher (österreichischer Staatsmeister 1975 Franz Laimböck) aufmerksam geworden, machte Gerhard Tempel, der damalige Geschäftsführer der Firma Hauer, Werner Sulzbacher ein Angebot: für werbewirksame Rennauftritte sollte ein Gitterrohrrahmen für den Motor der LAVERDA 1000 modifiziert werden. Ein Rohling des Rahmens wurde daraufhin zum Projektbetreuer und Rennmechaniker Bertram Amorth gebracht.

Aber es kam alles anders als gedacht: 1976 wiederholten sich die Renn-Erfolge leider nicht und Bertram Amorth verließ die Firma Sulzbacher. Das Fahrwerk nahm er mit und baute mit den verbliebenen Renn-Teilen eine Hauer-LAVERDA 1200 SC auf.

Nach wenigen Probekilometern wurde die Maschine in der Zeitschrift „Motorrad“ 22/1977 zum Verkauf angeboten und von einem Interessenten aus Würzburg gekauft. Sie wurde in Österreich typisiert und zugelassen, damit der neue Besitzer in Deutschland mit österreichischem Kennzeichen fahren konnte. Nach 3 Jahren verlor er aber das Interesse an dem Fahrzeug und verkaufte es weiter.

Der zweite Besitzer bereitete die Hauer-LAVERDA zur Abnahme beim deutschen TÜV vor. Das erwies sich als schwierig. Aber 1980, nach zwei Anläufen, wurde die Hauer-LAVERDA 1200 SC beim Würzburger TÜV mit allen Sonder-Eintragungen abgenommen. Der Besitzer fuhr das Fahrzeug, so wie es von Bertram Amorth aufgebaut worden war. Die Freude an dieser einmaligen LAVERDA wurde allerdings durch einen kapitalen Motorschaden getrübt. Der Eigentümer verkaufte das Hauer-Fahrwerk mit einigen Anbauteilen, da er noch eine originale LAVERDA 1000 besaß (1984).

     

Der dritte Besitzer baute die Hauer-LAVERDA mit vielen Neuteilen wieder auf. Moderne 16-Zoll Campagnolo-Felgen mit schwimmenden 280mm Brembo-Scheiben und „Oro“-Bremssätteln wurden verbaut. Als „Sulzbacher-Enthusiast“ besaß er schon eine LAVERDA 1000 mit einem Sulzbacher 1200 SC Motor. Dieser wurde mit allen Komponenten in das Fahrwerk eingebaut. Leider hielt auch dieser Motor nicht lange und die Hauer-LAVERDA stand mehr in der Garage als sie bewegt wurde.

Maximilian-Volker Mahlmeister kaufte das Fahrzeug 2003 nach 15-jähriger Standzeit. Nach einer Bestandsaufnahme wurde das Fahrzeug komplett zerlegt, der Rahmen wurde entlackt, überprüft, vermessen und in einer Fachwerkstatt instandgesetzt. Die Hauer-LAVERDA wurde auf die originalen 18-Zoll Räder zurückgerüstet und mit den „Brembo-Oro“ Komponenten vervollständigt. Ein Freund von Max zerlegte den Sulzbacher-Motor und baute ihn wieder perfekt auf. Die Maschine soll im Sommer 2007 dem Würzburger TÜV zur Abnahme vorgeführt werden.

Diese einmalige österreichische Konstruktion wird also wieder leben und bewegt werden. Wir freuen uns auf eine erste Begegnung mit der wiederauferstandenen Hauer-LAVERDA 1200 SC. Jeder der Fotos oder Geschichten zu diesem Motorrad beitragen kann, soll sich bei Gert Schnögl (Tel. 01/5449377, E-Mail: Gert.Schnoegl@netway.at) melden.

Hersteller:

Hauer, Wien

Erbauer:

Bertram Amorth/Österreich

Bj./Rahmen:

1975

Bauart:

Gitterrohrrahmen, Schutzgas geschweißt

Zusammenbau:

1976/77

Erst-Zulassung A:

?

Erst-Zulassung D:

12.05.1978

Fahrgestellnummer:

LAV 5159

Typ/Ausrührung:

1200 SC

Motor:

1200 SC / 112 PS bei 7.700 U/min

Maximilian-Volker Mahlmeister hat sich in der LAVERDA-Szene einen guten Namen gemacht: er repariert und restauriert Nippon Denso und Smith Tachometer und Drehzahlmesser. Dafür fertigt er sogar neue Ziffernblätter, Aussenkappen, Verschlußringe und Gläser an. Max erreichst du unter Tel.: +49-9324-982608, Mobil: +49-175-4144936, E-Mail: Max.Mahlmeister@gmx.de. Seine Preisliste kannst du hier downloaden (Preisliste-PDF).